Doctor Who

It’s official. During the total fiasco that was last night’s National Television Awards (is there anyone on earth more wooden than Trevor McDonald?) David Tennant confirmed that he’s leaving the show in 2009 after another four specials next year.

Speculation has inevitably started about who will be replacing him. Names in the frame so far include: John Simm, David Morrissey, James Nesbitt, Rhys Ifans and little-known Paterson Joseph, who could become the first black Doctor Who:  

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/celebritynews/3282197/Favourites-for-next-Doctor-Who-emerge.html

More off-the-wall suggestions include both Stephen Fry and Stephen Merchant. Personally, I don’t think they need to look any further. I think Stephen Merchant would be a superb Doctor Who.

But what about a woman this time. Would that work? Plus – I hear Russell Brand is now free.

19 Responses to “Doctor Who”

  1. Napoleon Says:

    Are you seven years old, Mingles?

  2. charliemingles Says:

    you miserable bastard. cant a man have a bit of light relief from all this heavy politics and international banking we usually discuss.

  3. kirstenin Says:

    Matt Berry, please. x

  4. charliemingles Says:

    matt berry. very good suggestion miss innes.

  5. Napoleon Says:

    My vote for the new Doctor Who (if we MUST discuss children’s television) is a stringy length of jizz attached to the side of space hopper. Any good?

  6. charliemingles Says:

    that would certainly have been better than sylvester Mccoy, I think.

  7. Napoleon Says:

    Which one was he? Was he the curly-haired one? Or that goon wot was in the James Herriot programme?

  8. charliemingles Says:

    I see. I thought you were just pretending to not know who they were for comedic purposes. Its hard to imagine someone who has never ever watched doctor who. mccoy was the annoying scottish twat who killed the franchise off back in the 80’s.

  9. Napoleon Says:

    I don’t remember a Scotch one. I remember a curly-haired one, another curly-haired one, and him off of All Creatures Great ‘n’ Small. I stopped watching it after that lot, as I grew up, like.

  10. charliemingles Says:

    I stopped around that point too – as it got shite. until the new one started.

    anyway, mccoy was the really irritiating one who replaced the one who replaced the all creatures great and small one. these were all shite but Mccoy took the shiteness to a whole new level.

    Imagine timmy mallet as doctor who and youre very close.

  11. crapsack Says:

    I’ve read your blog, Napoleon. Sorry, but in what way exactly have you ever ‘grown up’?

  12. Napoleon Says:

    By stopping watching children’s television when I was no longer a child?

  13. crapsack Says:

    Wow. I wish I’d thought of that. Mind you, if I had, I would have missed Konnie Huq on Blue Peter and that bird on that Saturday morning kid’s TV show getting her tits covered in gunge every week.

  14. The Tombstone Says:

    Eddie Izzard.

  15. Alex L. Says:

    Dylan Moran… that would be tops.

  16. charliemingles Says:

    I shall pass all of these recommendations on to my highly-placed sources at the BBC. Apart from Dylan Moran and Eddie Izzard – who are both shite.

  17. The Tombstone Says:

    Cock.

  18. charliemingles Says:

    very well …’apart from Dylan Moran and Eddie Izzard who are both cock.’

  19. daveselectricblanket Says:

    Ian McShane.

Leave a Reply

