Red Laurie, Yellow Laurie, Other Laurie

I’m re-watching House on Five US at the moment. I didn’t really like this series at first, but now I love it. Okay the storyline is pretty much the same every episode, and the same key moments happen at about the same point in the action each week. But who cares. The cast are all great, and the comedy dynamic between House/Cuddy/Wilson is just excellent. Three brilliantly deadpan comedy performers having a great time playing off one another.

In fact, Hugh Laurie does such a great job as cool, witty House, you’d almost forget there was ever another Hugh Laurie – a younger, skinnier, geekier, but equally funny Hugh Laurie.

So let’s go back in time to some earlier versions and remind ourself how talented he really is. Also, for those of us getting on a bit, we can comfort ourselves with the fact that sometimes men really do get better-looking as we get older – and that the ageing bearded social-mitfit with the cane sometimes does get the cute girl. (That’s House I’m talking about there, in case you were wondering. I shaved my beard off some time ago.)

The top clip is a great Fry & Laurie sketch from their A Bit of Fry & Laurie series which ran from 1989-95. This is a great sketch about linguistic academics. I know, not another one. If only there were more dick jokes on the internet instead.  (Thanks to the Urban MILF http://theurbanwoo.blogspot.com/ for reminding me of this one.)

The middle clip is Hugh Laurie in his guise as the Prince Regent in Blackadder the Third. It’s hard to pick a favourite clip from this series, as just about every moment is comedy gold. But staying on the theme of language, this scene is from the Dr Johnson episode, Ink & Incapability. This isn’t so much of a clip, more 1/3 of an episode, but there isn’t a weak line in there.

The bottom clip is how the world knows him now – as dishevelled, misanthrope & master of the acerbic one-liner, Dr Gregory House MD.

And … Clear!

10 Responses to “Red Laurie, Yellow Laurie, Other Laurie”

  1. Dave Says:

    I’ve carted my House DVDs to my folks in binnie Scootland. They keep sending me random emails along the lines of ‘episode 6 was great’…at strange hours of the night too…

    You can have your Wires but House is a gem.

  2. Dave Says:

    Bin was Freudian.

  3. Edna Welthorpe Says:

    GILF, please.

    And I wish we could upload Hugh playing the nitwit from Radio Four’s Saturday Night Fry *sigh*. Kick The Frog….

  4. charliemingles Says:

    nice to see you monitor our humble site edna. I would have thought youd be happy with MILF too.

  5. Edna Welthorpe Says:

    I have clearly been reading too much Take A Break lately Charlie – I read about a grandma there this morning who was six years younger than me.

    Still. 43 and no bra. Not bad, eh?

  6. charliemingles Says:

    no bra? are you mad woman? Are they still pinky & perky? Or more like two wet fish slapping around in carrier bags, strapped around your neck?
    do tell.

  7. Edna Welthorpe Says:

    Benefits of being relatively flat-chested, mate. They’re almost invisible to the naked eye.

  8. charliemingles Says:

    It seems girls in their teens and 20’s hate being flat-chested, but by the time theyre in their 40’s, they thank the good lord.

    I watched that Virgin Daughters thing too, really disturbing. I did a review of it for WWM. What a fuckwit that randy was – and his wife! 12 pregnancies, poor mad howling bitch.

    PS: My blog stats have gone right up today MILFY (thats not a euphamism) so I may mention your sweet name every day from now until christmas.

    cheers doll

  9. Edna Welthorpe Says:

    Well, thanks. I am quite gifted in the area of raising young men’s *stats*

  10. charliemingles Says:

    thanks to you too missy.

    My stats got raised even higher when you called me ‘young’ just there.

Leave a Reply

