DVD Extra

On with the comedy. The top clip is a scene from the second series of I’m Alan Partridge. Apart from being a great example of the comedy of embarassment with Alan’s idiotic notion of what it means to be Irish, it’s also worth watching because the two guys playing the Irish tv producers are the creators/writers of Father Ted, Graham Linehan (far right) and Arthur Mathews.

The bottom clip is the under-rated Simon Day with his Billy Bleach character from The Fast Show. He has one of those faces that just makes you want to burst out laughing. If you watch Charlie Higson, who is playing the barman, you can see him trying not to laugh.

2 Responses to “DVD Extra”

  1. MD Says:

    Ah, that whole Alan Partridge scene is brilliant. I’ve not watched your clip on account of needing to be quiet, but I love that, the Bloody Sunday and potato famine comments are class.

  2. charliemingles Says:

    I know, there are endless quotable lines:

    ALAN: I think the irish are going through a major image change. I mean, the old image of leprechauns, shamrocks, guinness, horses running through council estates, toothless simpletons, people with eyebrows on their cheeks, badly-tarmaced drives (in this country), men in platform shoes being arrested for bombings. lots of rocks and ehm, Beamish. I think, I think people are saying ‘ Yes. There’s more to Ireland than this. Good slogan for the tourist board! There’s more to Oiyland dan dis.

    I hope you realise the trouble I go for my customers. Luckily Im a fast typist. but I cant abide the idea of someone missing out on some Partridge because they dont want to wake the house up.

Leave a Reply

